Kirsten's Recs

Staff Pick Badge
A Curse So Dark and Lonely (The Cursebreaker Series) Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781681195100
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury YA - January 7th, 2020

This is probably the best retelling of the tale of the Beauty and the Beast that I have ever read! Harper has never had an easy life. She suffers from cerebral palsy, an absent father, a terminally ill mother, and a brother involved in illegal activity. While helping her brother with a job, she gets pulled into a world of princes, beasts, and dangerous magic. Prince Rhen has just about given up on breaking the curse, until he meets Harper. The combination of character development, twists, and toe-curling romance will definitely have you on the edge of your seat!      

-Kirsten


Pre-Order Now Badge
Mad, Bad & Dangerous to Know Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781616959890
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Soho Teen - April 7th, 2020

A fun, light, and charming story that will most definitely make you want to brush up on your art history and travel to Paris immediately. 17-year-old Khayyam Maquet is having a dilemma. She just got rejected for a prize at her dream college, is having problems with her not so ex-boyfriend, and is stuck in Paris when all she wants to do is figure out her life back in Chicago. Then she meets a charming descendant of Alexandre Dumas, and starts to unravel the mystery behind a remarkable woman silenced by history. 

-Kirsten


Staff Pick Badge
Scavenge the Stars Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781368051415
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - January 7th, 2020

This gender-bent retelling of The Count of Monte Cristo is an action packed adventure filled with deception, incredible riches, revenge, and romance. Theoretically, Amaya's and Cayo's paths should never have crossed. Amaya is serving time on a debtors' ship, and Cayo is the son of a wealthy merchant. But, a series of unimaginable circumstances force their lives to intertwine in a way that neither expects. This book will have you intrigued right from the first page, and is perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir!

-Kirsten


Staff Pick Badge
Song of Achilles Cover Image
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9781408816035
Availability: Special Order
Published: Bloomsbury UK - September 1st, 2011

You’ve definitely heard of Achilles, the greatest of all the Greek warriors, but have you heard of his foremost companion, Patroclus? Perhaps he isn’t as bold as some other heroes, but he is still a tragic hero nonetheless. This is the tale of the Iliad reimagined, with a cast of characters that will pull on your heartstrings in the best way possible. It’s the perfect story for lovers of mythology (and even those who aren’t)!

-Kirsten


Staff Pick Badge
Circe Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316556347
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown and Company - April 10th, 2018

Circe has always been the strangest child of the Titan of the Sun, Helios. She is without breathtaking beauty, strong powers, or seemingly any of the traits his other children seem to have. However, she soon discovers that she does possess a special gift, one she can use to protect herself and the mortals she spends most of her time with. This story of empowerment is probably one of my favorite novels, and I can guarantee that even those who aren’t a huge fan of mythology will absolutely adore this book!

-Kirsten


Staff Pick Badge
In Five Years: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982137441
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atria Books - March 10th, 2020

Dannie Cohan, an ambitious Manhattan corporate lawyer, thinks she has everything figured out. She knows exactly where she will be in five years; working at her dream job, married to her boyfriend Dan, and living in a practical apartment. But, one strange night she experiences a vision of her life five years in the future that changes her current life forever. I finished this book in one day because I couldn’t put it down. It is absolutely perfect for lovers of unexpected romance, heartwarming surprises, and twists that keep you wanting more!

-Kirsten


Staff Pick Badge
The Silence of the Girls: A Novel Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780525564102
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Anchor - August 27th, 2019

In one word, excellent. A raw, brutal, and realistic interpretation of the Iliad that truly showcases the lives of the women. The reader follows Briseis, once the queen of Lyrnessus, and now concubine and war prize to Achilles. She has to adjust to a life as one of the many conquered women who serve the Greek army, and tries to keep hold of her will to live. We finally get to see the stories of the slaves, concubines, nurses, and prostitutes that played a significant role in the Trojan War, and the heart wrenching reality of their lives.

-Kirsten


Staff Pick Badge
Courting Darkness (Courting Darkness duology) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780544991194
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - February 5th, 2019

Medieval France and the daughters of Death. Interesting by themselves, but when you add in a battle for the throne of France, things get a little more interesting. Sybella was trained at the convent of Saint Mortain to become his justice of death. Genevieve has been undercover for so long sometimes she can’t even remember what she was sent to do. Two sisters, and yet so different. If you love a mix of mystique, drama, and love in unexpected places, this is the perfect book for you.

-Kirsten


Staff Pick Badge
Caraval Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781250095268
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Flatiron Books - May 1st, 2018

Remember, it’s only a game. Everything that happens during the magical Caraval is just an elaborate performance, or so they say. Ever since she could remember, Scarlett Dragna has been dreaming about attending the famed show where the audience participates. At last, the year that her cruel father sets up an arranged marriage, her invitation arrives. With the help of her fiery younger sister Donatella and a mysterious sailor, Julian, she gets swept into the world of Caraval. However, when her sister turns out to be the object of the game, she discovers that all might not be what it seems. Enchantment, mischief, love, and heartbreak all follow Scarlett through the bewildering game of Caraval.

-Kirsten


Staff Pick Badge
The Black Witch (Black Witch Chronicles #1) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781335468864
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harlequin Teen - August 7th, 2018

When one is the spitting image of the savior of one’s people, life can prove difficult. Elloren Gardner looks exactly like her famed grandmother, Carnissa Gardner, the last prophesied Black Witch. The only problem is that she is utterly devoid of the power that her people prize above all else. So, when she attends the prestigious Verpax University with her brothers, the hope to become an ordinary apothecary becomes challenging. In a world where hate and prejudice rule, Elloren is thrust into a situation where she starts to believe that all the things her people say might not be true. With an evil looming on the horizon, she must find the courage to befriend the very people she’s been taught to hate her whole life.

-Kirsten


Staff Pick Badge
The Storm Runner Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781368023603
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Rick Riordan Presents - August 20th, 2019

13-year old Zane Obispo of New Mexico has always had a fairly bizarre life. From being drawn to the mysterious dormant volcano in his backyard to only having one good leg, he is no stranger to the word abnormal. But Zane learns a whole new definition of bizarre when he is forced into a millennia-old prophecy with the new girl at school, Brooks. He would much rather spend time with his dog Rosie, but in order to save his family (and the world) from an evil Mayan god, he is thrust into an adventure that will change his life forever. Unexpected heroes, wicked demons, feisty gods, and new friends give him the power to overcome his fears and become the Storm Runner.

-Kirsten


Staff Pick Badge
Ribbons of Scarlet: A Novel of the French Revolution's Women Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062916075
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - October 1st, 2019

You’ve heard about the influential men of the French Revolution, but what of the women? During one of the most dramatic and intriguing periods in history, seven stories are told about the often overlooked half of eighteenth century French society. From the philosopher to the assassin, the princess or the revolutionaries, all of these key figures in history are finally having their stories told. This riveting novel provides a new perspective on the French Revolution, and by the end you will want to say liberté, égalité, sororité!

-Kirsten


Upcoming Events

Event date:
Tue, 03/31/2020 - 10:30am