The Lies I Tell: A Novel (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Lies I Tell: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Staff Reviews


AVAIL. 6/21/22

You can learn a great deal about someone through social media. Convince others this is who you are . . . today. Meg, the vengeful con artist is posing as a real estate agent when she meets Kat, a striving journalist. Working to expose corrupt individuals, especially one in particular who has devastated her life, Meg doesn’t know that Kat can play charades too and fabricates her own role. Think about the “difference between justice and revenge” as you delve into Julie Clark’s latest thriller, The Lies I Tell.

-- MINDY

— From Mindy's Recs

Description


"A mindbender." –Jessica Knoll

"Riveting...a winner." –Laura Dave

"A knockout." –Mary Kubica

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Last Flight comes a twisted con-woman thriller about two women out for revenge—or is it justice?

Two women. Many aliases.

Meg Williams. Maggie Littleton. Melody Wilde. Different names for the same person, depending on the town, depending on the job. She's a con artist who erases herself to become whoever you need her to be—a college student. A life coach. A real estate agent. Nothing about her is real. She slides alongside you and tells you exactly what you need to hear, and by the time she's done, you've likely lost everything.

Kat Roberts has been waiting ten years for the woman who upended her life to return. And now that she has, Kat is determined to be the one to expose her. But as the two women grow closer, Kat's long-held assumptions begin to crumble, leaving Kat to wonder who Meg's true target is.

The Lies I Tell is a twisted domestic thriller that dives deep into the psyches and motivations of two women and their unwavering quest to seek justice for the past and rewrite the future.

Praise for The Last Flight by Julie Clark:

"Thoroughly absorbing...the characters get under your skin." –The New York Times

"Highly thrilling." –Entertainment Weekly

"You won't be able to put it down." –People.com

About the Author


Julie Clark is the New York Times bestselling author of The Ones We Choose and The Last Flight, which was also a #1 international bestseller and has been translated into more than twenty languages. She lives in Los Angeles with her family and a golden doodle with poor impulse control.

Praise For…


"Intriguing...Clark skillfully fleshes out the strong, multifaceted characters. The story nicely mixes brisk plot points with slow burning reveals as it builds to a satisfying conclusion. Clark doesn't disappoint." — Publishers Weekly

"Will twist readers through an intricate, domestic thriller as the two women's lies unravel. Perfect for fans of Kimberley Belle, Alice Feeney, and Michael Robotham." — Library Journal

"A meticulously plotted mindbender, with a last page I can only describe as a triumph. Do not miss it." — Jessica Knoll, New York Times bestselling author of Luckiest Girl Alive

"Another terrific nail-biter by Julie Clark. The Lies I Tell weaves together the stories of two strong, complicated women: a brilliant con artist, and the journalist determined to unmask her. Fast-paced and beautifully plotted." —


"Julie Clark has done it again! In her latest riveting domestic thriller, Clark takes you straight into the collision course of two dynamic, complicated women—who will go to any length to fix their past and find their way to a different future. The Lies I Tell is a winner!" — Laura Dave, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Last Thing He Told Me

"The Lies I Tell is a uniquely riveting cat and mouse game with two artfully nuanced female protagonists that is at once a razor-sharp, page-turning mystery and a brilliant, thought-provoking exploration of what it truly means to do good in the world." — Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author of A Good Marriage and Friends like These

"Clark knocks it out of the park with The Lies I Tell. A modern-day Robin Hood with a feminist twist. This is one of the best books you'll read this year. Unputdownable!" — Liv Constantine, internationally bestselling author of The Last Mrs. Parrish

"Clark knocks it out of the park with The Lies I Tell. A modern-day Robin Hood with a feminist twist. This is one of the best books you'll read this year. Unputdownable!" — Liv Constantine, internationally bestselling author of The Last Mrs. Parrish
Product Details
ISBN: 9781728247595
ISBN-10: 1728247594
Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark
Publication Date: June 21st, 2022
Pages: 320
Language: English

Upcoming Events