Ready or Not (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Ready or Not By Andi Porretta, Andi Porretta (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Andi Porretta, Andi Porretta (Illustrator)
$24.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Cassie and her three best friends have their last summer together ahead of them before they part ways for college. Marcy, Aaron, and Nico all have plans to head off to college in the fall, but Cassie is the only one who doesn’t quite know what she wants to do. Cassie is trying to figure out that weird time that exists between graduating high school and what comes next. Ready or Not is about the anxieties of wanting things to stay the same and learning how to welcome change.

-Savanah

— From Savanah's recs

Description


This “bright and bittersweet” (Rainbow Rowell, #1 New York Times bestselling author) graphic novel for fans of Jenny Han and This One Summer follows a group of friends in a post-graduation summer of adventures and offbeat dares.

With senior year finally behind them, Cassie and her three best friends are on their way to what’s next. Like their parents, the crew has always been inseparable: there’s Marcy, the artist, for whom style is self-expression and sarcasm is a love language; Aaron, the future lawyer, whose good humor balances out his competitive streak; Nico, the musician, whose flirtatiousness, obliviousness, and recent interest in a rising senior are becoming increasingly unbearable to Cassie; and of course, Cassie herself, the only one who doesn’t have her future all figured out.

This summer is their last chance to make memories together in New York City before everyone but Cassie scatters across the globe for college—and she’s determined to make the most of it. Her plan? They’ll spend August playing the game of dares and risks they invented as kids! From adventurous to outrageous, these dares will definitely make for an unforgettable summer. Even better, Cassie is hopeful they’ll help the group stay friends no matter what…because she is not ready for a future without them.

About the Author


Andi Porretta is a Philly-born illustrator, storyteller, and rom-com watcher. She studied illustration and design at Pratt Institute and currently resides in Brooklyn with her best friends and pet cat. When she isn’t drawing, you might find Andi at her local coffee shop, palling around, or missing her subway stop (again). Ready or Not is her debut graphic novel.

Andi Porretta is a Philly-born illustrator, storyteller, and rom-com watcher. She studied illustration and design at Pratt Institute and currently resides in Brooklyn with her best friends and pet cat. When she isn’t drawing, you might find Andi at her local coffee shop, palling around, or missing her subway stop (again). Ready or Not is her debut graphic novel.

Praise For…


★ “Andi Porretta’s debut graphic novel, Ready or Not, dances on the edge between youth and adulthood. Its characters are vibrant and fun, but they’re also facing a lot of change—which lets the story explore the joy, pain and chaos of growing up. Porretta’s expressive, colorful art style lends itself well to the emotional ups and downs of this charming story. . . . It’s a great life lesson for all ages: Just because you’re growing up doesn’t mean you can’t have fun.”
BookPage, STARRED REVIEW

★ "Each character’s vivid, varied personality is represented via bold-hued backgrounds and text bubbles that overlay the already colorful metropolitan setting . . . Breezy and earnest, Porretta’s debut graphic novel makes a unique commencement gift for the contemporary high school graduate."
Publishers Weekly, STARRED REVIEW

“A coming-of-age story with relevant themes of growing up, figuring out how to balance responsibility with fun, and learning how to hold on to the most important people in your life.”
Booklist

“Porretta’s debut . . . captures Generation Z in all their exuberance and acceptance as well as anxiety. . . .The attractive, jewel-toned art dynamically conveys the urban setting. Light and refreshing fare.”
Kirkus Reviews

"Teens moving past their high schools will recognize Cassie and her group’s struggle as they decide how to maintain their friendships as they all set off on their next big adventures."
The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"Bright and bittersweet, Ready or Not absolutely captures summer in New York City—and that right-out-of-high-school feeling of the world shifting beneath your feet."
— Rainbow Rowell, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Fangirl

“Andi Porretta’s immersive illustrations and smart storytelling showcase the grit and beauty of New York, as well as the pulsating heartbeat of friendship and coming of age. A masterful debut!
— Laura Taylor Namey, New York Times bestselling author of A Cuban Girl’s Guide to Tea and Tomorrow

“Andi Poretta’s dynamic inks and colors ooze with the drama and fun of Cassie and her friends’ last summer together. These teens feel real, and will resonate with anyone who has experienced the awkwardness of trying to hold onto friends as the world changes around you.”
— Sas Milledge, Lambda Award-winning creator of Mamo
Product Details
ISBN: 9781665907033
ISBN-10: 1665907037
Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: July 2nd, 2024
Pages: 336
Language: English