The Memory of Lavender and Sage (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
The Memory of Lavender and Sage By Aimie K. Runyan Cover Image
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Apr 22 9:09pm
(FICTION--GENERAL)

Staff Reviews


Tempesta, our narrator, leaves New York for the region of Provence, where she has bought a house in disrepair, sight unseen. As she seeks help with this massive renovation project, she is also looking for answers as to why her mother left the French village of Sainte-Colombe. In turn, she is committed to helping the village thrive, making suggestions on how it could reinvent itself, yet keep its old-world charm. The Memory of Lavender and Sage will have you yearning for a greenhouse of your own, like Tempesta’s, full of the delightful smells of pungent herbs – oregano, thyme, basil, mint and of course lavender and sage.

-  MINDY

— From Mindy's Recs

Description


"A standout voice in women's fiction. I was captivated from the very first line." -- Kristy Woodson Harvey, New York Times Bestselling Author of The Summer of Songbirds

Perhaps the secrets of her mother's past in this tiny French town hold the key to her own future. . .

Food critic Temp sta Luddington has always felt like the odd person out in her family, ever since she lost her beloved mother at the tender age of thirteen. When her workaholic father passes fifteen years later, Temp sta is not surprised that the majority of the considerable family money will pass to her dutiful younger brother, Wal. Still, she is left a modest remembrance from her mother, and for the first time Temp sta has a world of choices before her.

Lost in grief and hoping to reconnect with her memories and her mother's past, she uses the money to buy a ramshackle manor house in Sainte-Colombe, a small village in Provence, where her mother had grown up. But she is greeted with more questions than answers. Her welcome, especially by the town's stodgy mayor, is cold at best, and she finds herself wondering if the entire experiment was a mistake.

Yet she stays, stubbornly sticking it out, slowly learning that her mother's legacy was more than just a nest egg. Through her mother and the village, Temp sta learns the value of community and friendship, the importance of self-confidence, and the power of love and trust. What's more, she sees for herself that there is magic and beauty in the everyday--even something as simple as a sprig of lavender and sage.

"For readers who love Under the Tuscan Sun and Chocolat, this is your next heartfelt, delightful read." --Jennifer Moorman, bestselling author of The Baker's Man

  • A dreamy escape into Southern France from bestselling author Aimie K. Runyan.
  • Perfect for fans of Katherine Center, Rebecca Serle, and Sarah Jio
  • Kate Quinn described Runyan's previous work as "a moving tale of female solidarity and courage."
  • Stand-alone novel of approximately 100,000 words
  • Includes discussion questions for book clubs
Product Details
ISBN: 9781400237258
ISBN-10: 1400237254
Publisher: Harper Muse
Publication Date: March 5th, 2024
Pages: 368
Language: English