Every Time You Hear That Song (Paperback)

Every Time You Hear That Song By Jenna Voris Cover Image
$12.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of May 18 9:30pm
(YOUNG ADULT FICTION)

May/June 2024 Kids Indie Next List


“This book shined in portraying the complicated feelings that a hometown can inspire, especially for young adults trying to find who they want to be. It’s impossible not to relate to Darren as she decides how much of her past she’ll take into her future.”
— Julia Boaman, Bethany Beach Books, Bethany Beach, DE

Description


"Beautifully explores the high and low notes of fame. . . . A must-read for anyone who loves layered characters, true-to-life personalities, and country music!"—Jason June, New York Times best-selling author

Perfect for fans of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo and Daisy Jones and the Six, this queer coming-of-age story celebrates country music, complicated women, and living authentically.


They say never meet your idols. But nothing about digging up their deepest secrets.

Seventeen-year-old aspiring journalist Darren Purchase has been a lifelong fan of country music legend Decklee Cassel, who’s as famous for her classic hits as she is for her partnership with songwriter Mickenlee Hooper. The same Mickenlee who mysteriously backed out of the limelight at the height of their careers, never to be heard from again. Now Decklee’s televised funeral marks the unveiling of her long-awaited time capsule. But when it’s revealed to be empty, a trail of scavenger-hunt clues unfolds, leading to a whopping cash prize for whoever finds the real capsule. Darren knows there’s a story there—and she’s going to be the one to break it. Even if it means a spontaneous road trip with her coworker Kendall.

Flashback to 1963, when a young runaway Decklee has her sights set on fame and glory. As she claws her way to the top over the years that follow, it’s Mickenlee’s lyrics that help rocket her to stardom. But as their relationship evolves beyond the professional, it threatens everything Decklee has worked for. What else will she sacrifice to hold on to her dreams?

Told in alternating perspectives, Every Time You Hear That Song is a beautiful tale told across lifetimes. There’s more to Decklee’s story that Darren ever could have guessed, but the real story she has to tell is her own.

About the Author


Jenna Voris writes books about ambitious girls and galaxy traversing adventures. She was born and raised in Indiana—where she learned to love roundabouts and the art of college basketball—and now calls Washington D.C. home. When she’s not writing, she can be found perfecting her road trip playlists and desperately trying to keep her houseplants alive. Every Time You Hear That Song is her sophomore novel, after her debut Made of Stars

Follow her online @JennaVoris and at JennaMVoris.com.

Praise For…


“Jenna Voris beautifully explores the high and low notes of fame, showing that there's no shame in wanting people to know your name, but the choices you make to reach that goal are what really matters. A must-read for anyone who loves layered characters, true-to-life personalities, and country music!”—Jason June, New York Times best-selling author 

"I absolutely loved this romantic, page-turning adventure about loving people and places who cannot love you back on your terms. If you've ever tried to make yourself smaller for a world that was never meant to contain you, this book will be a balm to your soul."—Dahlia Adler, author of Home Field Advantage
 
Every Time You Hear That Song is the literary equivalent of hitting the open road with the windows down and the radio blasting. A powerful, moving anthem for anyone who’s dared to dream big and grow new roots while discovering the meaning of home. After devouring this book, I’m officially in my Jenna Voris era.”—Brian D. Kennedy, author of A Little Bit Country and My Fair Brady

“The scavenger hunt book of my dreams! Every Time You Hear That Song is a love letter to the strong hold music has on all of us and the magic that comes with sharing it. I loved following Darren as she hunts down the ultimate prize and finds herself along the way.”—Jenna Miller, author of Out of Character

Every Time You Hear That Song takes readers on a captivating journey across miles and decades, as two young women chase their dreams and discover who they are. With the fast-paced storytelling and lyrical prose of the best country songs, this book made me a Decklee Cassel and Jenna Voris fan for life!”—Kaitlyn Hill, author of Love from Scratch and Not Here to Stay Friends

★ "Discoveries of love, legacy, and self take center stage in this musical tapestry of a novel."—Kirkus, starred review

★ "Voris teases out tension between a longing for privacy and a desire to live and love out loud in this messy, complicated search for community."—Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Though readers can’t hear it, ‘Whiskey Red,’ the fictional ballad at the novel’s heart, hits all the right notes—longing, excitement, the anticipation of inevitable heartbreak—and this classic coming-of-age tale blending a puzzle mystery with country music and romance does too.”—Booklist, starred review

Product Details
ISBN: 9780593623398
ISBN-10: 0593623398
Publisher: Viking Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: April 2nd, 2024
Pages: 320
Language: English