Beasts of Prey (Hardcover)

Beasts of Prey Cover Image
List Price: $18.99
Our Price: $17.09
(Save: $1.90 10%)
On Our Shelves Now
3 on hand, as of Nov 30 9:04pm
(YOUNG ADULT FICTION)

September/October 2021 Kids Indie Next List


“Ayana Gray creates an amazing fantastical world with things that are both wondrous and monstrous. Told from three points of view that come together beautifully, this book is an immersive experience.”
— Revati Kilaparti, Old Firehouse Books, Fort Collins, CO

Description


In this blockbuster fantasy series, perfect for fans of Kingdom of the Wicked and Iron Widow, fate binds two Black teenagers together as they journey into a magical jungle to hunt down a vicious monster.

“Rich in magic and mythos, Beasts of Prey is a feast for all the senses.” —Renée Ahdieh, New York Times bestselling author of The Beautiful

An Instant New York Times and Indie Bestseller


There’s no such thing as magic in the broken city of Lkossa, especially for sixteen-year-old Koffi, who indentured to the notorious Night Zoo, knows the fearsome creatures in her care and paying off her family's debts to secure their eventual freedom can be her only focus. But the night those she loves are gravely threatened by the Zoo’s cruel master, Koffi unleashes a power she doesn’t fully understand, upending her life completely.
 
As the second son of a decorated hero, Ekon is all but destined to become a Son of the Six—an elite warrior—and uphold a family legacy. But on the night of his final rite of passage, Ekon encounters not only the Shetani—a vicious monster that has plagued the city for nearly a century and stalks his nightmares—but Koffi who seems to have the power to ward off the beast. Koffi’s power ultimately saves Ekon, but his choice to let her flee dooms his hopes of becoming a warrior.

Desperate to redeem himself, Ekon vows to hunt the Shetani and end its reign of terror, but he can’t do it alone. Koffi and Ekon form a tentative alliance and together enter the Greater Jungle, a world steeped in wild, frightening magic and untold dangers. The hunt begins. But it quickly becomes unclear whether they are the hunters or the hunted.
 
“The hunt for your next YA fantasy book trilogy obsession has ended.” —Entertainment Weekly

About the Author


Ayana Gray is an author of speculative works and lover of all things monsters, mythos, and #MelaninMagic. Originally from Atlanta, she now lives in sunny Florida, where she reads avidly, follows Formula One racing, and worries over her adopted baby black rhino, Apollo. Beasts of Prey is her debut novel.
 

Praise For…


Praise for Beasts of Prey:
An Instant New York Times Bestseller
An Indie Bestseller
An Apple Best Book of the Month Pick – October 2021

An Amazon Best Book of the Month – October 2021
An Indie Next Pick

Rich and Powerful.” —O, The Oprah Magazine

"The hunt for your next YA fantasy book trilogy obsession has ended." —Entertainment Weekly

“A new epic fantasy series.” —Pop Sugar

“Step into the lush, magical jungles of your new young-adult fantasy obsession. . . Much more than just your standard hero’s journey, Beasts of Prey is a story of courage, friendship, and community that’s as inspiring as it is exciting.” —Apple Books Review

★ “This pan-African story, rife with betrayal and narrated through poetic language that evokes vivid imagery, will ensnare readers, keeping them engaged with its energetic pace. The beautiful blend of mythology, romance, and action ends with a hint at more to come… A dazzling debut.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

★ “Gray's debut is a thrilling series opener with twists and turns that will delight. Hints about more expansive world building to come will entice readers to pick up future volumes in this must-buy for fantasy enthusiasts.” —Booklist, starred review

★ “With its memorable characters, and a lush, expansive world, Gray’s debut is an action-packed adventure that will tug at hearts and keep teens glued to the page, yearning for more. Essential for all collections.” —School Library Journal, starred review

Rich in magic and mythos, Beasts of Prey is a feast for all the senses. Prepare to be transported to Koffi’s world from the first page, and find yourself lost not only in the dark thrill of the hunt but the poignant beats of emotion at the heart of this story. Gray’s writing is lyrical, her imagery vivid. I eagerly await whatever she pens next.” —Renée Ahdieh, New York Times bestselling author of The Beautiful

A fast-paced, rip-roaring ride that grabs you by the throat and never lets you go. A masterpiece of magic.” —Namina FornaNew York Times bestselling author of The Gilded Ones

Epic doesn’t begin to encompass the jolting twists, sparkling mythos, and magical quests that fill the pages of Beasts of Prey. This is the sort of read that’s beyond transportive, it’s downright transcending—a tale full of heart and magic, and sure to ensorcell readers body, bone and soul.” —Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Gilded Wolves

“In this wildly original debut, Gray marries the lush imaginative wonder of African mythology with an action-packed tale of two teens on the opposite ends of fate, figuring out what’s truly worth fighting for. Swoony, twisty, action-packed, Beasts of Prey is as epic as it is unforgettable.” —J. Elle, New York Times bestselling author of Wings of Ebony

"A delight. I rarely fall in love with characters as quickly as I did with Koffi and Ekon. Gray masterfully balances the wonder and uncertainty of youth with a deftly, fully imagined world that I was dying to learn more about." —S. A. Chakraborty, author of the critically acclaimed and internationally bestselling The Daevabad Trilogy
 
"Ayana Gray’s wonder-filled world of mythos and monsters and magic comes to life in the ensnaring, enchanting Greater Jungle. An unputdownable tale that unfolds in a maze of twists and turns, driven by the crackling wit of two protagonists on a quest to vanquish the beasts of their present and past.” —Amélie Wen Zhao, author of the Blood Heir trilogy

A magical, bingeable debut by a phenomenal new voice in YA. Beasts of Prey is an immersive and heartfelt book with characters whose personalities seep from the pages. From its beautiful prose to its rich and vibrant world, this book is your next favorite read.” —Adalyn Grace, New York Times bestselling author of All the Stars and Teeth

"Steeped in rich worldbuilding and resonating with keenly drawn emotional depth, Beasts of Prey features masterful twists, heart-pounding action, and unforgettable characters you will want to follow to the end of the world and back. I grew lost in this book from the very first page." —Margaret Rogerson, bestselling author of Sorcery of Thorns

“Gray’s pan-African fantasy is filled with monsters, mythos, and Black girl magic. Her characters are well developed, and the plot is filled with African lore, expanded upon in an extensive author’s note. Fans of Forna’s The Gilded Ones and Ifueko’s Raybearer will enjoy this engrossing debut novel.” —The Horn Book

“The protagonists achieve a rich emotional depth complemented by the fast-paced action, and a light romantic element lends the plot additional support. . . imaginative debut.” —Publishers Weekly
Product Details
ISBN: 9780593405680
ISBN-10: 0593405684
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: September 28th, 2021
Pages: 496
Language: English

Upcoming Events

Event date:
Wed, 03/09/2022 - 7:00pm
Event date:
Tue, 04/19/2022 - 7:00pm
Event date:
Tue, 05/17/2022 - 7:00pm