All Three Stooges (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
All Three Stooges Cover Image
$16.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


MIDDLE-GRADE FICTION

Noah Cohen, his (female) nemesis Noa Cohen, and his best friend, Dash, are the center of this wonderful novel. The story, set in their Bar and Bat Mitzvah year, cycles through classic Jewish humor (the titular Stooges, “Seinfeld,” the Marx Brothers, and many more), standard pre-teen angst, and, following a tragedy in Dash’s family, grief. Perl manages to keep all the balls in the air, not unlike a vaudeville juggler, in a way that will hook, retain, and enlighten her readers, leaving them with both lots of yuks and new paths to empathy and understanding.

-Banna

— From Banna's New Recs

Noah Cohen, his (female) nemesis Noa Cohen, and his best friend, Dash, are the center of this wonderful novel. The story, set in their Bar and Bat Mitzvah year, cycles through classic Jewish humor (the titular Stooges, “Seinfeld,” the Marx Brothers, and many more), standard pre-teen angst, and, following a tragedy in Dash’s family, grief. Perl manages to keep all the balls in the air, not unlike a vaudeville juggler, in a way that will hook, retain, and enlighten her readers, leaving them with both lots of yuks and new paths to empathy and understanding.

-Banna

— From Books for Middle Grade Readers

Description


SYDNEY TAYLOR BOOK AWARD HONOREE FOR OLDER READERS!
                                                                                                                                          WINNER OF THE NATIONAL JEWISH BOOK AWARD FOR CHILDREN'S LITERATURE!

An unforgettable coming-of-age story about comedy, loss, and friendship for fans of Jennifer L. Holm and Gary D. Schmidt.

Spoiler alert: This book is not about the Three Stooges. It's about Noah and Dash, two seventh graders who are best friends and comedy junkies. That is, they were best friends, until Dash's father died suddenly and Dash shut Noah out. Which Noah deserved, according to Noa, the girl who, annoyingly, shares both his name and his bar mitzvah day.

Now Noah's confusion, frustration, and determination to get through to Dash are threatening to destroy more than just their friendship. But what choice does he have? As Noah sees it, sometimes you need to risk losing everything, even your sense of humor, to prove that gone doesn't have to mean "gone for good."

Equal parts funny, honest, and deeply affecting, All Three Stooges is a book that will stay with readers long after the laughter subsides.

"Perl has created a moving coming-of-age journey steeped in Jewish traditions and comedic history, elegantly balancing humor with an honest look at the impact of suicide. Noah's genuine voice and tricky situation will have readers pulling for him."--Publishers Weekly

"This novel is excellent on multiple fronts. A satisfying story that will appeal to all middle grade readers."--SLJ

"Watching Noah repeatedly sliding on a banana peel (even, once, literally) gives readers plenty of occasions to wince, to chortle, and ultimately, to applaud."--Booklist

"A welcome portrayal of a very difficult situation’s impact on someone not ready to deal with it—and there are plenty of funny moments to make it all easier to take."--Horn Book

About the Author


Erica S. Perl is the author of The Capybara Conspiracy, When Life Gives You OJ, Aces Wild, Vintage Veronica, and a number of picture books. She lives in Washington DC with her family. Learn more about her on Twitter @ericaperl or at ericaperl.com.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780399551758
ISBN-10: 0399551751
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: January 9th, 2018
Pages: 240
Language: English