The Someday Suitcase (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
The Someday Suitcase Cover Image
$6.99
On Our Shelves Now
4 on hand, as of Jun 15 9:45pm
(CHILDREN 9-12 FICTION)

Staff Reviews


MIDDLE-GRADE FICTION

When Clover, a 10-year-old science geek, learns about symbiosis, she thinks it perfectly describes her and Danny, who lives next door. They’ve known each other from birth and what they are goes beyond friendship. But when Danny becomes ill and doctors can’t figure out why, the dynamic changes. Clover’s sure she can use science to help him, but something magical is going on, too: whenever she’s with him, Danny gets better, but when they’re apart he declines. This deeply moving story of friendship, science, and growing up demands our attention . . . and plenty of Kleenex.

-Banna

— From Banna's New Recs

When Clover, a 10-year-old science geek, learns about symbiosis, she thinks it perfectly describes her and Danny, who lives next door. They’ve known each other from birth and what they are goes beyond friendship. But when Danny becomes ill and doctors can’t figure out why, the dynamic changes. Clover’s sure she can use science to help him, but something magical is going on, too: whenever she’s with him, Danny gets better, but when they’re apart he declines. This deeply moving story of friendship, science, and growing up demands our attention . . . and plenty of Kleenex.

-Banna

— From Books for Middle Grade Readers

Description


Readers who loved The Thing About Jellyfish and Goodbye Stranger will find a mysterious magic and unforgettable friendship in The Someday Suitcase, from the critically acclaimed author of Rules for Stealing Stars.

A Bank Street Books Best Children's Book of 2018!

Clover and Danny are the kind of best friends who make each other even better. They’re so important to each other that Clover believes they’re symbiotic: her favorite science word, which describes two beings who can’t function without the other.

But when Danny comes down with a mysterious illness that won’t go away, the doctors can’t figure out what’s wrong with him. So Clover decides to take matters into her own hands by making lists—list of Danny’s symptoms, his good days, his bad days.

As the evidence piles up, only one thing becomes clear: Danny is only better when Clover is around.

Suddenly it feels like time is running out for Clover and Danny to do everything they’ve planned together—to finally see snow, to go on a trip with the suitcase they picked out together. Will science be able to save Danny, or is this the one time when magic can overcome the unthinkable?

About the Author


Corey Ann Haydu is the author of Rules for Stealing Stars and four acclaimed books for teens. She grew up in the Boston area, earned her MFA at the New School, and now lives in Brooklyn, New York, with her dog Oscar. Find out more at www.coreyannhaydu.com.

Praise For…


“A touch of magic, the promise of snow, and so much love I can barely keep it together to write this sentence. I know Clover and Danny will stick with me for a long, long time.”
— Kate Milford, New York Times bestselling author of The Greenglass House

“Beautiful, true, and magical. This book touched my heart.”
— Lauren Myracle, author the Wishing Day series

★ “Quietly superb prose...Haydu doesn’t romanticize illness, but she provides comfort through art, science, magic, love, and a purple suitcase. A sharp, clear-cut piece that knows life is beautiful and sickness isn’t.”  
— Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

★ “Haydu’s second middle-grade novel is poignant and powerful. A heartbreaking story about the healing power of friendship amid human fragility.”  
— Booklist (starred review)

★ “In this moving, exquisitely written story, Corey Ann Haydu explores the thin line between science and magic within an intense bond of friendship.”
— Shelf Awareness, starred review

“Haydu does not shield readers from hard truths, creating complex characters who face difficult situations. This sensitive work will strike an emotional chord with middle-graders.”
— School Library Journal
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062352767
ISBN-10: 0062352768
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date: January 8th, 2019
Pages: 320
Language: English