Saving Lucas Biggs (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Saving Lucas Biggs Cover Image
$16.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Midlle Grade

This terrific middle-grade novel addresses intense environmental and social justice issues: hydrofracking in 2014 and a coal miners’ strike in 1938. When Margaret’s father is unjustly convicted and sentenced to death for a crime he didn’t commit, she feels compelled to use the O’Malley family gift of time-travel to go back to 1938 and change events in the life of the judge who sentenced him.  Readers of this absorbing story will be treated to heart-stopping adventure and beautiful writing, as well as important lessons in risk-taking and doing the right thing.

- Banna

— From Banna's Recs

This terrific middle-grade novel addresses intense environmental and social justice issues: hydrofracking in 2014 and a coal miners’ strike in 1938. When Margaret’s father is unjustly convicted and sentenced to death for a crime he didn’t commit, she feels compelled to use the O’Malley family gift of time-travel to go back to 1938 and change events in the life of the judge who sentenced him.  Readers of this absorbing story will be treated to heart-stopping adventure and beautiful writing, as well as important lessons in risk-taking and doing the right thing.

Banna
— From Books for Middle Grade Readers

Description


Perfect for fans of Margaret Peterson Haddix, When You Reach Me, and Savvy, this charming time-travel story from husband-and-wife team Marisa de los Santos and David Teague follows one girl's race to change the past in order to save her father's future.

Thirteen-year-old Margaret knows her father is innocent, but that doesn't stop the cruel Judge Biggs from sentencing him to death. Margaret is determined to save her dad, even if it means using her family's secret—and forbidden—ability to time travel. With the help of her best friend, Charlie, and his grandpa Josh, Margaret goes back to a time when Judge Biggs was a young boy and tries to prevent the chain of events that transformed him into a corrupt, jaded man. But with the forces of history working against her, will Margaret be able to change the past? Or will she be pushed back to a present in which her father is still doomed?

Told in alternating voices between Margaret and Josh, this heartwarming story shows that sometimes the forces of good need a little extra help to triumph over the forces of evil.

About the Author


Marisa de los Santos is a New York Times bestselling author and award-winning poet with a PhD in literature and creative writing. She lives in Wilmington, Delaware, with her family.



David Teague is the author of the picture book Franklin’s Big Dreams. With his wife, Marisa de los Santos, he is the coauthor of Saving Lucas Biggs and Connect the Stars. Married for over twenty years, Marisa and David live with their two children, Charles and Annabel, and their Yorkies, Finn and Huxley, in Wilmington, Delaware.

Praise For…


“This book is hard to put down! Vivid and memorable, SAVING LUCAS BIGGS casts a captivating spell that will keep you turning pages. A heartfelt yarn of family, friendship, and homespun time–travel magic.”
— Ingrid Law, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of SAVVY

“A riveting time–travel adventure. Strong storytelling, suspense, lyrical writing, high drama, weighty matters made accessible and a bit of humor add up to a terrific and heartwarming read.”
— Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“The authors weave a tale of justice and family bonds with threads of historical fiction accented with the fantastical physics of time travel.”
— School Library Journal (starred review)

De los Santos and Teague craft a gentle, quiet sci–fi story where the focus is not on the science…love, nonviolence, and social justice are. Give this one to readers who like stories about family, doing the right thing, and standing up to those who don’t.
— Booklist

“The authors’ graceful use of language and fearless exploration of a more spiritual dimension simultaneously comfort and challenge readers, encouraging deep thoughts. This novel makes a good companion for armchair time travelers and budding philosophers alike.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062274625
ISBN-10: 0062274627
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: April 29th, 2014
Pages: 288
Language: English